Judith Barrington

Judith Barrington is the author of four collections of poetry, most recently The Conversation, and two chapbooks, Postcard from the Bottom of the Sea – a finalist for the Oregon Book Award -- and Lost Lands, winner of the Robin Becker Chapbook Award. Her Lifesaving: A Memoir won the 2001 Lambda Book Award and was a finalist for the PEN/Martha Albrand Award for the Art of the Memoir. She is also the author of the best-selling Writing the Memoir: From Truth to Art, which is used in writing programs and in writers’ groups across the USA and in Australia. 

Her work has been published in many journals, magazines, and anthologies, and presented by Garrison Keillor on NPR’s “The Writer’s Almanac.” In 2013 she was awarded the Gregory O'Donoghue International Poetry Prize and was a guest reader at the Cork Spring Poetry Festival in Ireland.

She has been a faculty member of the University of Alaska, Anchorage’s low-residency MFA Program and has taught for The U.K. Poetry School in Britain and Spain. She has been on the faculty at numerous writing conferences, most recently at the 2015 Writers@ Work Conference in Utah.

Complete Reading from Mountain Writers Series 2009

Martha, 1630

Reading from Summer Fishtrap 1995

Reading from Summer Fishtrap 2006

The Dyke With No Name at the Funeral Home

The Musicians' Seamounts

The Seventies