Jonah Bornstein

Jonah Bornstein is author or co-author of several collections of poetry, most recently Treatise on Emptiness (chapbook; 2009) and Voices from the Siskiyous (chapbook; co-author). Other collections include We are Built of Light and A Path Through Stone (co-author). He received an MFA in Poetry from New York University and moved to Oregon in 1989, where he co-founded the Ashland Writers Conference (1997-2002). His poem "Night Blooming Men" was nominated for a Pushcart Prize. His poems have most recently been anthologized in September 11, 2001, American Writers Respond (2002); Walking Bridges (2008), and Deer Drink the Moon (2007). He has been the featured poet at readings in New York City (notably La Mama Galeria), California (Beyond Baroque), and Oregon (Southern Oregon University, Writers On The Edge). He has taught poetry and literature privately for 20 years and at several universities in New York (1983-1989) and Southern Oregon University (2001-2007). He currently teaches and edits poetry privately and works as a graphic designer. He lives in Ashland, Oregon with his wife, the painter Rebecca Gabriel.

After a Long Rain

Complete Reading from Mountain Writers Series 2009

Layout Artist

Silent Confession to a Catholic Student

Where We Stand