Ellen Waterston

Ellen Waterston’s poems have appeared in Naugatuck Review, Cadence of Hooves, Deer Drink the Moon, High Desert Journal, Ronde Dance and other reviews and anthologies.Her awards include the 2009 and 2005 WILLA Award in Poetry for her collections Between Desert Seasons and I Am Madagascar, respectively, and the 2007 Obsidian Prize in Poetry. Where The Crooked River Rises, a collection of Ellen Waterston’s award-winning essays, will be released in fall 2010 by OSU Press. Her memoir, Then There Was No Mountain, was rated one of the top ten books by the Oregonian in 2003. She has been awarded many writing residencies including the Sitka Center for Art and Ecology in 2010. She lives in Bend, Oregon where she is the director of The Nature of Words.

Black Suitcase

Complete Reading from Mountain Writers Series 2009

Gateway To Heaven

Painted Shut

Reading from Summer Fishtrap 1998

Thunder Eggs