Ron Talney

Ron Talney was born in British Columbia but has lived most of his life in Oregon. He has published five books of poetry, The Anxious Ground from Press-22; The Quietness that is our Name, from the Bohematash Press, as part of its Pacific House Series; The Broken World, from Stone City Press as part of the William Stafford Chapbook Series from the Northwest Writing Institute; Night Sky from Stone City Press; and most recently,  A Secret Weeping of Stones, New and Selected Poems, from Plain View Press (2010). He is also the editor of Stone City I, an Anthology of Oregon Poetry from Stone City Press. In 1985 his poem, "Portlandia" was selected as the official dedication poem for the statue, Portlandia, the second-largest beaten copper statue in the United States, second only to the Statue of Liberty, and is permanently displayed on the statue's dedication plaque. In 2009 The Anxious Ground was selected by the Oregon State Library as one of the 150 best books of poetry published by an Oregonian since the establishment of statehood.

In addition to poetry he has also authored a juvenile mystery novel, The Ghost of Deadman's Hollow from University Editions. His individual poems, articles and essays have appeared in numerous journals, quarterlies, newspapers and anthologies, including The Prescott Street Reader and Poets West.

Ron Talney lives in Lake Oswego, Oregon with his wife, Linnette. He graduated from Portland State University in 1960 with a B.A. in General Studies, Humanities, did graduate work at the University of Southern California, and received his Juris Doctorate degree from the Northwestern School of Law of Lewis and Clark College in 1966.

Complete Reading from Mountain Writers Series 2010

Elegy for My Father

Moving Quickly

Summer Grapes

The Cabin in Winter